top of page
Breaking the Internet

What's Next For The Empanada Fork Following HSN Win


A few weeks ago Hipatia Lopez, inventor and owner of the pastry press Empanada Fork, was a semi-finalist in the HSN/US Bank competition and about to present her patented product on live television to HSN viewers everywhere. Fast forward to her winning the $5,000.00 cash prize (thanks to 15.7 impressions and over 2k tweets in the social media contest) and her product selling on the HSN website, Hipatia is filled with excitement and already tackling her next business moves! Here we follow up with Hipatia about her experience throughout this amazing opportunity.



1. How was the process from applicant to semi-finalist to winner of the contest?

I found out about the HSN Project American Dreams platform at a Statewide Hispanic Chamber of NJ event where Lili Gil Valleta was a speaker. First, you applied online which was very easy to enter. The waiting process was always difficult for me. However, I was contacted in Jan 2017 that I got chosen as one of the 18 semi-finalist from all over the world which was beyond exciting. We all had to pitch to 4 judges along with some HSN executives who were present. We had 5 minutes to do this. I introduced myself very quickly and focused on demonstrating.



2. What was a great lesson you learned about business from this experience?

One big lesson I learned is to always answer an important question about your service or product- “What’s so good about that”? I have realized how vital it is to state the features and benefits.



3. Why do you think there isn't enough Latino/a representation in business and patented inventions?

I believe the main reason there is not enough Latino/as representation pertaining to being an inventor is FEAR of failing and of course money. Less than 1% patent holders in USA are Latina women.



4. How did it feel being on live television on HSN explaining your product to viewers and then winning the contest?

It was such a surreal moment being on HSN – my nerves were through the rough that morning. However, to my surprise once I got on my kitchen set – the nerves just disappeared. I even started to eat an empanada in the middle of the demo. I was super happy and filled with emotion about winning the Customer Favorite Social Media Contest and was trying real hard not to cry because my makeup came out great!



5. Do you have any regrets or mistakes that helped you grow in business?

That’s a tricky question. No regrets because I believe firmly that when it’s your turn to shine than you will. However, be patient and keep pushing forward. I did have many mistakes and have learned from them all. For ex: One mistake would be that I went after big box stores from the start – focusing too much time and energy. I realize this now -online stores is what works for me presently and some local kitchen supply stores which I love!



6. Where do you see Empanada Fork in the next 5 to 10 years?

In the next 10 years, I see empanada fork sold in 3 different sizes. (small, regular, large) to hit a variety of different pastries. I would like to come out with Empanada Boxes so customers can have empanada parties at their house. I think even kids would benefit with this in order to have some bonding time with adults at home.



7. How will the winning prize help you with your business goals?

The $ 5,000 dollars will help me buy more utensils for the original size now. Also- work on re-packaging of the utensil.



8. What is next for you and Empanada Fork?

The next thing for me is to try to cross it over more to other markets as well. I want everybody to realize that “we” all make a pastry similar to an empanada but just call it differently. I am hoping that HSN will invite me back and hopefully we build a great relationship for the future.











Get the Empanada Fork on HSN


Visit the Empanada Fork website


bottom of page